A hotel with heritage
The Heritage Hotel Rockhampton is a three story Federation-era building constructed in 1897 during a period of commercial prosperity and growth for Rockhampton.
The original owner, Leah Johnson, had a long history with the hotel industry in Queensland before returning to Rockhampton and selecting the location of the Heritage on the corner of Quay and William Streets. She commissioned prominent Rockhampton architect, William Wilson to create a new iconic building which featured decorative iron-lace balustrading to overlook the river views.
Originally operated as the Commercial Hotel and Chambers, after Leah’s death in 1923 the hotel operated under various other owners and eventually changed its name to the Old Colonial Hotel in the 1970s. By the late 70’s the building was updated and renamed the now familiar Heritage Hotel.
In October 1992, the hotel was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register for it’s important place in defining the street scape of Rockhampton and significance in Queensland architectural history.
The new heritage
The hotel was once again substantially renovated and reinvigorated through 2016-17 with careful attention to maintaining the character of this grand building. She was reopen as the Heritage Hotel Rockhampton in June 2017 with a long life ahead of her.
The State Library of Queensland featured the history of the hotel on its blog. Read it here http://blogs.slq.qld.gov.
For more information visit https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/